Why Are You So Dressed Up?

20 years ago, I was climbing the corporate ladder in my well-tailored business suit and killer high heeled pumps. I left the workplace, to go home and raise my children (one of the best decisions that I have ever made). After being home full-time, my once strong conviction for always looking my best began to be overtaken by my logic of “why bother getting out of these pajamas”. This ultra-comfort at home began to creep into my fashion sense even when I went out of the home.

The years went by. I hated seeing pictures of myself because they were very rude about pointing out my new image. I was in denial. Finally, it was like I woke up from a bad dream. I stumbled across the room to gaze at this woman in the full-length mirror. Who is that? I looked at my clothes hanging nearby. I had accumulated a rather large, and I do mean large collection of over-sized sweaters, t shirts and baggy shapeless jeans. Oh yes, and a few ugly shoes too.

Thankfully, my husband had been placed under a blissful spell and hadn’t even noticed that his once sexy wife had gone away. Maybe he just thought that she was on a business trip or had gone to visit her Mother. Maybe he thought that tent woman was my temporary replacement. You know, like the show where the wives trade places. I digress.

Now, where was I? Oh yes, I woke up from a bad dream. Over time, I began to realize that it took exactly, and by exactly, I mean exactly the same effort to get dressed if I chose well-fitting garments. I found tops that came in at the smallest part of my waist. I found jeans that actually hugged my shape. Presto – I instantly looked 20 pounds slimmer.

The real confirmation came one evening when I was attending a weekly meeting where I volunteered for a community service organization. One of the male volunteers came up to me and asked “why are you so dressed up?” Are you imagining that I had pulled out one of my business suits and a pair of pumps? No, I was wearing a well-fitting sweater and jeans with boots. That’s it! Oh yes, I had showered, washed and combed my hair too.

I want to encourage you that if you are looking as though you have given up, make some minor improvements and get back in the game. You’ll feel fantastic and be smiling and that will bless those around you.

Leave a Reply

