Rolling Waves

One overwhelming thought runs through my mind.  “God, I feel like you are asking too much of me – I am not strong enough.”

 

As I sat in church this morning, I was definitely encouraged to hear that King David remained faithful throughout various trials and storms that must have seemed never ending.  The preacher pointed out that although many of us are experiencing difficult times, our difficulties probably don’t compare to what David went through in his lifetime.  I should be encouraged by that – if David experienced great sorrow and remained faithful then I can as well.  After all, we do serve the same God.

 

I truly wish that it felt that easy.   For months now, the rolling waves of hurt, rejection and grief keep crashing in.  They knock me under and I struggle to gasp for a breath of air in between each piece of heartbreaking news that comes.  Is this the abundant life?

 

Jesus didn’t promise us ease did He?  Actually, He laid it out pretty clearly.  If we follow Him, we will experience sorrow.  If you love others, life does get messy and you will get hurt and your motives could be wrongly judged and you might be unfairly treated.   If you strive to raise your children to be excellent for Christ, you are counter-cultural and you will receive opposition.  If you are serving God, the enemy wants to destroy you.  So what then?

 

Well, simply put – when you’re not feeling the resurrection power of Christ in your life, you must tell yourself truths – continually.  God will never leave me or forsake me.  God has a plan for me for a future with hope.  God fully understands my sorrow and grief.  God never stops loving me even when I blow it.  God’s power is made known through my sufferings.  God has a never ending supply of grace for me.

 

I know many of you that read this post today are hurting.  Some of you are being crushed and suffocated under an elephant weight burden.  There is hope and yes in writing this, I am self-talking too.  If you haven’t yet put your trust in Jesus’ sacrificial payment of your sins – you need to start there because outside of Jesus, there is no hope.  If you have already placed your trust in Jesus’ work on the cross, lay these sorrows at His feet.  Take a deep breath and tell yourself all about who God is and that He never changes.

 

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.  Jeremiah 29:11

 

If you have enjoyed this post, please take a moment and follow Madeline on Facebook.  Also, she would love to hear your comments.

Image entitled Wave is courtesy of federico stevanin at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

One thought on “Rolling Waves

  1. 1 Corinthians 10:13
    [13]There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

