A Pauper by Choice

God adopted me and this gave Him great pleasure.  Ephesians 1:5

 

Shouldn’t I know better by now?  I’ve been a Christian for over half of my life.  I know that God doesn’t lie.  Why do I still live my life as though I don’t believe God?  Why do I live as though I am destitute, when God tells me something very different?  According to God, the same riches that He has given to Jesus Christ, are available to me?

 

Hello, my name is Madeline and I am a life-long habitual people pleaser.  It occurs to me that in my people pleasing, I am like a pauper standing on the road-side begging for a scrap of something from other human beings.  Love, acceptance, respect, friendship – all good things but when I elevate them above God’s opinion of me, I am stuck in a cycle of elation to despair.

 

Does rejection cause you to question your value as a human being?  The following is the kind of rejection that a woman can experience and it can come in many other forms and it will be different for each individual.  It could be a loved one that fails to take the time to understand you and tries to fix you instead of valuing your unique gifts.  It could be someone who blames you for their relationship problems with another person.  It could be a woman who judges and dislikes another woman simply because of her appearance or first impression.  It could be someone who spreads lies about another person and damages a reputation.  It could be a friend who does not reciprocate concern or care.  It could be a woman who is pleasant face to face but through actions and behaviors, she proves that she wants nothing to do with you.  It could be someone who seeks to exclude you or your family from their circle.  It could be a wife that is so jealous and possessive that she won’t allow her husband to show kindness to another human being who happens to be a woman or it could be a woman who is cruel to another woman simply because her husband admired her.

 

Some fortunate people are capable of letting these rejections “roll off”.  For others who are tenderhearted, these rejections lead to despair.  Dear tenderhearted one, if you are in Christ Jesus, you need to continually remind yourself of your identity.  Your identity is not in how people treat you – your identity is in how God views you.  If you have trusted Jesus for the payment of your sins, this is what God says about you:  you are no longer condemned, God adopted you into His family, God has given you an inheritance of spiritual riches, God showers you in kindness, God sees Jesus’ righteousness when He looks at you, you are His beloved and all of this gives Him pleasure.

 

So, if you belong to Jesus, take the love that God lavishes upon you and love others – just don’t make them an idol by elevating them above God in your life.  If you have not made Jesus the Lord of your life, you must start there.  With Adam and Eve, sin entered the world and God’s required payment for sin is spiritual death which is eternal separation from Him.  Thankfully, God is good and didn’t leave us there.  He made a plan for us to be reconciled to Him.  His Son paid the penalty for your sin on the cross.  All you must do to receive this salvation from spiritual death, is simply accept His gift to you.  Place your trust in Jesus’ finished work on the cross.

 

If you have enjoyed this post, please take a moment to follow Madeline on WordPress or Facebook.  I love to read your comments too.

 

Image courtesy of MR LIGHTMAN at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Pauper by Choice

Leave a Reply

