With the End in Mind

What do you want to be known for and how do you want to be remembered?

 

I want to be known and remembered as a courageous woman.  Since the day that I put my trust in Jesus Christ, courage is probably the character trait that God has transformed the most.  Like many of you, I have been reminded throughout my life of everything that I am not capable of doing, what would be too hard to do, what I shouldn’t do or what wouldn’t be normal to do.  Now, at this stage of my life, I am no longer content with living a safe life.  Jesus came and sacrificed, so that we could have abundant life – I want to live life abundantly.  I want to do great things so that God will be glorified.  I want to be courageous so that others will see the difference that Christ has made in my life.  I want others to want that difference in their own lives.

 

This looks different in each Christian’s life, but here is what it looks like in mine.

 

>I am fighting life’s battles using God’s weapons rather than my own.  Instead of manipulating people and circumstances, I am fighting battles for the people that I care about, with the power of prayer and the influence of genuine unconditional love.

>I am expecting and believing that God will bring good out of difficult or horrible circumstances for those that love Him.

>I am challenging my children to become independent of me – to work hard and take on responsibilities that stretch them and cause growth, respect for others and maturity.

>I am learning to love others based on how God calls me to love, without putting requirements, demands or expectations on the relationship.

>I am loving others even though it means that I will get hurt and I am loving even those that have hurt me.  This doesn’t mean that I like everyone and it doesn’t mean that everyone is worthy of my trust and my friendship.  Trust is earned and sometimes destroyed.

>I am learning to do what is best for others, even when it requires that I sacrifice my own desires.

>I am confronting legalistic religiousness in myself and others, because it seeks to extinguish a thriving relationship with God and others.  I am no longer hiding my true self out of fear that I will be judged by others who are using unbiblical standards.

>I am writing and getting the word out about issues that I am passionate about.  Sometimes, I tackle controversial subject matter and hitting the post button can be scary, but even if I take it in the chin, which I already have, I will do this until He makes it clear that I am done.

 

Often, I look back and remember a younger version of myself – a young woman who could be paralyzed with fear and dread of the unknown, and I am so thankful that God didn’t leave me there.  When I became a mother, I couldn’t imagine ever letting go of my children and not only allowing them, but actually encouraging and sometimes pushing them to spread their wings.  Along the way, He prepared me for each new step that they would take.  When my husband had a massive heart attack and my children, 5 & 9 years old asked me if “Daddy was going to die?”, I found courage that I’d never had before.  I told them that no matter what happened, we would be alright and I knew in my heart that it was not a lie.  In an age, when our world seems to have turned upside down and fear threatens to consume my mind, I can turn my eyes to God, the Creator of this very same world and know that He is still on His throne.

 

So, what do you want to be remembered for?  Whatever it is, live each day intentionally with the desired end in mind.

Leave a Reply

