Shaken, Not Stirred

Are you a thinker?  Is your mind usually on full speed?  Do you wake up during the night, ready to do more thinking?  If so, you probably have a tendency to rehash and overthink.  Is this a strength or a weakness?  I am a thinker and I definitely recognize and experience the good and the bad of this trait.  It all depends on how we use our thinking skills.  Let’s talk about the proper use of your Maserati mind.

 

Currently, I have a large plate and it’s jammed full and over-flowing with challenges and tasks to complete.  My daughter will be getting married soon, my teenage son just got his driver’s license and will be taking an airline trip on his own soon, we are selling our home and acreage of thirteen years, buying a lot, finding temporary housing, planning a new house, selling our rather large accumulation of stuff, packing, moving, homeschooling a highschooler, involvement in four different ministries, peri-menopause and a husband with a demanding schedule at work and at church.  Oh, and I’m still attempting to write and post quality content.  I’m writing this at 3:30 in the morning.  My mind woke my body and I just couldn’t sleep anymore.  What’s a girl to do?  At this very moment, she is going to get another cup of strong coffee.  I’m back – now let’s continue. What is the solution to managing an overactive mind?

 

Shake up your little snow globe but don’t stir the pot.  What on earth do I mean by this statement?  I’ll start with “don’t stir the pot”.  Stirring the pot suspends the sediment and things become cloudy and you are unable to see clearly.  Your mind gets caught up in the whirling.  Rehashing or obsessing over past hurts, current circumstances or tasks is a form of stirring the pot and it is counter-productive.  If I shake up my little snow globe, it’s an entirely different effect and result.  First, I can shake it up and get a very lovely result by fondly remembering the people that have been a blessing to me.  Second, shaking up my little snow globe applies to my daily tasks.  Shake it up in your mind and let it fall onto a written list.  Now, prioritize and go after those tasks and whatever doesn’t get done, move it to the next day’s list.  If it doesn’t fall into the fond memory or daily task column and it is outside of your control, then let it go – give it to God and just let it go.  Stirring the pot creates an agitated mind but shaking your little snow globe allows your mind to do its work and then slowly settle down.  By settling your mind, you can then focus on communing with God and begin to rest.

 

I do well with shaking up my snow globe at night, just before I go to sleep.  I construct my plans for the next day but when the lights go out and before I drift off, I count my blessings and thank God for the ways that I saw Him working that day and then I fondly remember the people who have been in my life – past and present.  Thank you for keeping me company in the wee hours of the morning.

Leave a Reply

